Burford’s board of directors (the "Board") consists of seven directors. The Board has overall responsibility for Burford’s governance, strategy, risk management and key policies and engages in robust scrutiny of the business and Burford’s portfolio. The Board evaluates its own performance annually and regularly discusses improvements to its structure and processes. The Board is subject to Burford’s various integrity policies, including with respect to conflicts of interest, self-dealing and fiduciary duties. The directors are experienced and collectively well-versed in the legislative and regulatory environment in which Burford operates. The Board generally holds an in-person meeting every quarter.

The Board has determined that six directors (86%), other than the Chief Executive Officer Mr. Bogart, are independent non-executive directors under the listing standards of the New York Stock Exchange and the applicable rules and regulations of the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Two of Burford’s seven directors are female (29%). Directors are required to retire at the annual general meeting immediately following their 72nd birthday.

The directors are:

Burford’s expected plan for the future of the Board, to be implemented at the 2024 annual general meeting, is as follows:

  • Hugh Steven Wilson will retire as Chairman and a non-executive director
  • John Sievwright, a director since 2020, is expected to become Chairman and to serve in that role until the 2027 annual general meeting, at which time he will retire from the Board
  • Christopher Halmy, a director since 2022, is expected to become Vice Chairman and to serve in that role until the 2027 annual general meeting, at which time he is expected to become Chairman
The foregoing plans are subject to subsequent amendment in the event of unforeseen circumstances.